Skip to content

JMC BMX Factory Roster

February 4, 2010

Since almost day one JMC had a presence in BMX. His first bike shop team had riders that rivaled any Factory team at the time. In this post I hope to list every factory rider and the years they raced for JMC along with a small photo or two of each. I will list the riders in alphabetical order with the years and where they were from if I have the information.

Factory

Sam Arellano (California, 1982)

Bobby Artura (California, 1977)

Tory Bailey. (State?, 1982-?)

John Begin (California, 1975)

Carl Butler (1981)

Adam Cox (California, 1975)

Gary Debacker (Michigan?, Years?)

Stephanie DeFeo (New Jersey, 1981)

Danny Farmer (1981)

Billy Felts (1981)

Jimmy Feret (1981)

Dennis Foster (California, 1975)

Solan Foster (Michigan, 1984?)

Greg Frechette (California, 1975)

Josh Gersten (Arizona, 1977)

Lisa Grossman

John Hamilton (Texas, 1984)

Kim Jarboe (California, 1980)

Tinker Juarez (California, 198?)

Kevin Keller (1983)

Jason Kick (1984)

Harry Leary (California, 1975-79) http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Harry_Leary

Don Malone (California, 1975)

Clint Miller (California, 1975-77) http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Clint_Miller

Korry Neal (California, 1981)

Andy Patterson (California, 1984-85) http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Andy_Patterson

Frank Post (California, 1985) http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Frank_Post

Justin Roos (1981-82)

Aaron Shook (California, 1981)

Lisa Terry (1981)

Lisa Webb (California, 1975)

Carl โ€œMEATโ€ Webster (Arizona, 1977)

Ronnie West (California, 1975)

Steve West (California, 1975)

Jason Wharton (Cal or Az?, 1981)

Robert Whiteside (California, 1977)

David Wilson (California, 1975-77)

Jeff Wittbrodt (1981-82)

Darrell Young (Oregon, 1981-83) http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Darrell_Young

**If you see any errors or omissions please feel free to post a comment and I will correct or add it.

Co-Factory

Patrick Alley (Early 80’s)

Damon Bevan (1983) Australia

Chris McKinney (1981-83) Little Rock, Arkansas

Michael Scherer (Mid 80’s) State?

Ray Spiers (1982) State?

Ben Troia (1982-83) Moby Dick Bike Shop – Santa Clara, CA

Tapley Holland โ€“ (1983-85) Oklahoma City, OK

Chris Tatum (198?) Texas

Jeff Venekamp (198?) State?

55 Comments leave one →
  1. steve smith permalink
    February 5, 2010 12:05 am

    You forgot to mention riders: Kevin Keller 1983
    Jason Kick 1984

  2. Ben Troia permalink
    February 20, 2010 8:15 pm

    What a great website, thank you.

    JMC was a very popular brand in he early 80s at the bike shop I managed, Moby Dick BIke Shop in Santa Clara CA. Jim provided me a co-factory sponsorship in 1982-83.

    The quality of the frames and forks was always excellent. Many of our bike shop team riders chose them and rode them in the early to mid 80s.

    The first jersey he provided was the mesh white body red sleeves with teh standard logo on the front. IN 1983 he provided a really cool all white cotton mesh jersey with a large badge logo and Race Ready pants that were red from teh knee down and whit on teh thigh.

    • February 9, 2011 4:06 pm

      I probably bumped into you a few times at Moby Dick’s. I got all my parts there from 83′-86′. That place rocked compared to all the other bike shops in the south bay area.

  3. February 21, 2010 8:50 pm

    Hi Ben. Was that the same bike shop Lonnie Lierly rode for for a bit? I met him at a ABA National in Bakersfield and flowed him some number plates. For some reason Im thinking that was the team he rode for. This was around 88.

  4. RON WEST permalink
    April 6, 2010 12:05 pm

    I rode on the original team, the first jmc was built for me, jim took it back when I out grew it I also had the very first sow up tires provided by jim also he changed the sport for every small racer.

    • April 6, 2010 7:45 pm

      Wow first Jim Melton sees this site and his family, now Ronnie West!!! Lots of young guns have found my websites. Over at the CYC site, Tom Christopher and Mike “The Masher” Muniz have checked in.

  5. Scott Brown permalink
    June 6, 2010 12:59 pm

    Can’t forget: Travis Younger (California), Tori Bailey (California), Mike Thomas (Washington) and Bart McDaniel (Washington)

  6. Adam Cox permalink
    June 29, 2010 6:08 pm

    Great start to what can be a great site!

    You forgot: Josh Gersten 1977 and Carl “MEAT” Webster 1977 both from Arizona

    I’ve got some JMC pictures to post, where do I post them?

    Thanks,
    Adam

  7. Adam Cox permalink
    June 29, 2010 6:12 pm

    Also Bobby Artura 1977 and Robert Whiteside 1977, both California

  8. July 27, 2010 11:20 am

    My name is Mike Lahn,I rode a JMC mini in the early80’s My home track was in Vineland NJ,on Landis Ave.I raced with the Peddlers East Team in Vineland.I rode alot of bikes,Mongose,DG ‘Dirt Grinder’ Redline,just to name a few.By far the JMC was the best bike I ever raced.That name above Steph DeFeo rings a bell.I think I remember her.I recived my JMC ,for a christmass gift and remember ridding it till dark that christmass day.It also was equiped with a Nici glue on tires and the best my mom could afford at that time.I still have pictures of the track and Peddlers East team during a summer BMX camp put on by the Zunners.Anyone remember Mike Mays,or Joey Burke,great ridders all off them.Well that’s my story,it’s about all I can remember.Mike L.

    • July 27, 2010 11:41 am

      I certainly remember them all. I bought my first BMX bike (1978, MCS with Powerlite forks) at Pedaler’s East. But I wasnt good enough then to ride for the team (I had made just one race prior) but they sold me a blank jersey. In 80 I raced for Langley’s. In 81 Action Wheels.
      In the issue with Sal Zeuner on the cover of Bicycle Motocross Action I had a letter regarding him published. Sal was the rider I looked up to the most. I also camped out one weekend at Craigmeur with Mikey Mayes older brother Porky in 79. Mikey Mayes was amazing to watch race. His brother was also a top expert. I was freinds with a few other Pedaler’s East racers namely Mike Lynch(SE) and Bryan Gaburo(Pro, Kuwahara). Of course was close to Sal, Terry and Jenny. I talked with Mrs. Zuener a couple years ago on the phone. They live in the same house still.

      Send any pictures you want posted to my email and I will see what I can do. bulletproof2000@live.com
      Erick Weinstetter

      Langleys BMX

    • Gary Grant permalink
      November 25, 2010 8:21 pm

      Michael. I should remeber you i think. I rode for pedalers east also. may have been after you . think i was on that team from 82 till 84 or 85. I was real good friends with Joey Burke at that time.

    • May 30, 2012 7:20 am

      Hey Mike , I remember racing Mike Mayes well! He was my nemesis! I had many great battles with him down at CJBMX in Howell NJ.I could keep a lead on him for most of the track and then he’d out-sprint me to the finish every time! That kid flew!

  9. chris tatum permalink
    October 30, 2010 1:50 pm

    I was also a cofactory rider in the early 80`s

    • November 26, 2010 10:36 pm

      OK Chris I added you the roster section. See if you can remember the exact year.

  10. Jeff Venekamp permalink
    December 28, 2010 4:17 am

    Your list does not include Factory JMC, Michigan hotshoe Solan “so long” Foster.
    I think 84-85 would be the time line. Dude still RIPS!
    Oh, and since your including Co-Factory riders on your list, I rode JMC for a few years in the early 80’s. Factory direct after talking with Mr. Melton at a national.

    • December 28, 2010 7:50 pm

      Ok thanks, I dont know how I over looked Solan. Thanks for the heads up. I added you also to the CoSponsor section but still need the years and state you were from. Again thanks for spotting that and letting us know about yourself.

  11. Jeff Venekamp permalink
    December 29, 2010 4:34 am

    Oh, sorry. My time line according to my letters and such from JMC would be 82-83.
    I am from Indiana.

  12. Ryan Schmidt permalink
    January 27, 2011 4:07 pm

    What about DAVID ” TINKER” JUAREZ? Did I miss his name??? He was the real deal Muscle man, put you out of a turn before you knew what hit you!!!!!!

    • January 27, 2011 8:37 pm

      Wow dont know how I missed that one. I still can remember those days, as he wore blue and yellow JT pants and helmet (not sure what team that was) with his red, white and blue JMC jersey.
      Thanks for the heads up Ryan.

      • Ryan Schmidt permalink
        February 2, 2011 6:42 pm

        Yhea Tinker was my favorite Pro at the time… Then Eddy King just loved they’re style..

  13. Meredith permalink
    February 23, 2011 9:37 pm

    The first ever women’s pro race was held in FL in the winter of 1985 at an NBL War of The Stars, and it was won by a rider on a JMC Darrell Young (me) ๐Ÿ™‚ I rode for JV Racing (James Vincent Bicycles out of NJ) at the time.

    • February 23, 2011 10:15 pm

      I know JV well. I have been inside the shop before ๐Ÿ™‚ I raced Braddock a few times in 1981. Only local I was buddies with, was Richie Votta. I did know alot of NY and NJ riders. I was based just on the PA/NJ border (Delaware River) on the PA side near the Lawrenceville track (I Helped build).
      Thanks for the info. If you find a picture of you racing on the JMC I will gladly post it.

  14. February 25, 2011 8:46 am

    You are forgeting Patric Alley He was sponsored around 84 85 86 mabey. I dont remember the years but I am possitive He was factory sponsored by JMC.Please check in to it .

    • February 25, 2011 8:52 am

      I also rode for JMC co . sponser pictures of me riding for JMC are on my FB. profile pictures.It was at the same time Justin Roos was sponsered.

    • February 25, 2011 7:56 pm

      OK added you both. What state and bike shop were you sponsored thru?
      If you get the exact years I will edit that also. Again thanks for contributing. If you want any pictures posted to the site email me at bulletproof2000@live.com
      Again thanks for the info.

  15. February 27, 2011 8:46 am

    Hey bro Patric Alley was a factory rider not co sponsered look it up.And we are both from Dallas TX. Thank you bro.

  16. Clint tuttle permalink
    March 23, 2011 8:01 pm

    I think it’s a jmc micro mini , chrome beautiful lil bike …sn#mm8505 now does that mean it’s bike #5 out of the 85 that were made or made in 85 ? I’ve also been told there were 89 made ? Please help !!!!!!!

  17. Holden Grossman permalink
    March 24, 2011 10:02 pm

    My dad TRAVIS GROSSMAN AND MY AUNT LISA GROSSMAN. Best racers ever!

    • March 25, 2011 6:22 am

      I seem to remember Lisa riding for Factory JMC, what years and what state was she from? Did your dad ride Factory or support? What years and state was he from?

  18. Tapley Holland permalink
    July 9, 2011 11:19 am

    Tapley Holland – Oklahoma City, OK 83-85

  19. Greg Wallace permalink
    April 3, 2012 3:02 pm

    Wow, I just found this place. I used to race co factory JMC around 83-84. Rode in the ABA on a black shadow. What a sweet bike it was. You would find me every weekend at Moffet Field in the mornings, and at the flying lady in the evenings. Fun times!

    • April 3, 2012 8:16 pm

      Thanks for finding the site and taking the time to post.
      For those that dont know the tracks Greg is talking about they are in Northern California, USA.
      I never rode them or even seen them. Yet I shoulda went to Moffet as I was in the navy lol.
      What bike shop was your sponsorhip thru or did you deal directly with JMC?

  20. May 30, 2012 7:16 am

    Great Blog! I raced from 1980-1983 in North Jersey ..all ABA …raced at Craigmeur, Braddock ,Lake Melody in West Milford, Howell, Teaneck, Jersey city armory, some crappy Tennis court track in Kinnelon once or twice …raced a few Nationals at State College PA, Vineland, and Millersville MD….and I raced a double points event PA at a track called Lehman BMX. I love seeing the names on here …total blast from the past! I remember having great race battles with guys like Mike Lynch , Mikey Mayes , and Franco Perrino as well as many others. I need to dig up some of the old racing pictures that my dad took!

    • May 30, 2012 8:04 pm

      I raced locally NBL at Lawrencville and Flemington and all ABA in 81. Was top ten most of year in points (Erick Weinstetter, Penn-1), to this day dont know where I finished. In Points ending November I was still top 20. I raced Millersville for a DP but got hurt and missed a few weeks. Moved west and missed the national though my buddy Bryan Gaburo did good in Pro. Man shoulda moved west after the Nationals.

  21. December 10, 2012 6:03 pm

    Looks good to me. Rocket ron west jmc bmx.

  22. December 10, 2012 6:25 pm

    Maybe I should say more. The first jmc bike was built for me it was awesome I loved it won a lot of races on it but jim always wanted more so we kept improving it.then he found out about sew up rims from europe.so I rode those man those things were tough to get used to.hated them at first but once I got used to them the rest is history. We changed the sport forever thanks jim it was great.Rocket Ron west.

  23. December 22, 2012 8:04 pm

    Harry leary is awesome from rocket

  24. Sean Glover permalink
    December 30, 2013 9:04 pm

    Sean Glover Factory 83 and 84

    • December 30, 2013 9:58 pm

      Tell us about yourself Sean. When did you start racing and where, state and or country etc. How did you end up on JMC and what age class? Got any pictures of yourself racing? Send them to me at bulletproof2000@live.com and I will post them on the site

  25. Chris McKinney permalink
    June 24, 2014 7:11 pm

    Chris McKinney Co-Factory Little Rock, AR 81-83

    • June 24, 2014 8:12 pm

      Welcome to the site Chris. If you have any pictures from your days on JMC please feel free to shot me a copy and I will post them along with the info like where and when the picture was taking and if a race shot, who your racing etc.
      bulletproof2000@live.com

  26. Maxwell permalink
    July 28, 2014 10:05 pm

    I have a 1984 24 inch Cruiser, serial # 84C33. Here is the history I have on it…

    The bike belonged to a JMC factory rider in the UK and was delivered to the UK in 1984 per the Certificate issued by Melton.

    Jeff Haney bought it from the factory rider and lost his information. Jim was unable to verify this on the birth cert without the rider info. The factory rider cut off the tightening mechanism on the seat post tube carefully to use an external seat post clamp, he did so because he was a very tall/heavy and desired more support than the original mechanism offered.

    I am curious who the factory rider was. Any ideas anyone? Thank you very much!!

  27. John hamilton permalink
    February 15, 2015 5:32 am

    1984, my name is not on the factory list . Thanks.

    • February 15, 2015 7:33 am

      OK thanks John. What state or country were you from. I could swear I remember you as an Ohio racer or maybe thats just because Ohio has a city named Hamilton. Long time ago. If you have any pictures from your JMC days just email me and I will post them up.

  28. john hamilton permalink
    February 15, 2015 7:38 am

    TEXAS,darrel and i won our class for the 1984 aba grands team win

  29. Bobby Hicks permalink
    February 21, 2015 12:28 pm

    Always great to see web sites dedicated to the great JMC Racing!

    I was a 14 Expert co-factory JMC rider in 1983 out of Oklahoma: Bobby Hicks. Raced and sometimes traveled with 1982 factory riders Leon and Yolanda Williams to races – mainly the 1982 Jag BMX World Championships in Las Vegas. Yo Yo won her 13-14 Powder Puff title, I slipped pedals to 5th in 14 Expert, Leon crashed out in his 12 expert main.

    As a co-factory rider JMC hooked me up with a chrome Shadow frame and fork set, two white JMC mesh jerseys (with OKC’s House Of Wheels bike shop emblazoned on the back in blue lettering), and a pair of Race Ready leathers.

    1983 was a good year for racing! I recall a big photograph of me soaring over a massive step-up jump at the ABA Summer National in Longmont, Colorado appeared in an issue ABA Action with me in my full JMC gear. The blurb beneath the photo read: JMC rider Bobby Hicks catches air over the step-up. Texas Redline 14 expert rider Mark Blankenship who doubled that day was none too pleased to see my photo instead of his in those pages! He should’ve been riding a JMC. Ha.

    Don’t know if Jim Melton ever saw the photo, but looking back I feel good knowing I was doing my job getting the brand some co-factory publicity! Unfortunately, I never spoke or met Jim in person. He never approached me at races and I never wanted to bother him when I saw him in the race pits surrounded by BMX kids. Had I known Jim was a native Oklahoman
    I probably would not have been as reluctant to introduce myself and thank him for the awesome frame and fork set! Thanks Jim, we are going to miss you.

    -BH

    • February 24, 2015 7:54 pm

      Very cool stories. Thanks for taking the time to share.
      If you ever find a copy of that picture I will post it.
      I have very few ABA papers as my collection was stolen back in 1994 in Malaga, NJ
      Man Bobby you made a 14 Expert main at the Worlds! That means you were faster then greased monkey snot.

  30. David Gardiner permalink
    June 20, 2017 11:03 pm

    I was a factory rider from Australia Around 1980-82
    David Gardiner is my name
    Jim visited Australia around that time

    • June 21, 2017 8:02 pm

      Thanks Dave, feel free to email me so I can interview you. Hope you can dig up some pictures. Never met Jim until I interviewed him for this site, what a great guy he was.

      • Sean Glover permalink
        June 27, 2017 5:31 am

        Sean Glover Factory rider in 83 84 85

Leave a Reply

