Skip to content

Jon Western JMC Collection

July 19, 2010

Here’s a photo of what may be the largest collection of JMC bikes in one place. Jon Westerns collection has pretty much every model ever made from the Long and Short Standards to the Andy Patterson. Once he completes his collection he told me he will take another photo and send it to us.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. Jon Western permalink
    July 20, 2010 3:16 am

    Thanks for posting the pic of my collection :-). I have seen a few collections with more JMC’s in one place than this, yes they are out there!! however I hace not seen one to date with the diversity of different models this collection

    • chris tatum permalink
      October 30, 2010 2:18 pm

      Hey John ,I had a chrome black shadow,blue Uni seat,blue bullseyes,polished arraya`s,blue spoke nipples,JMC bars and fork,blue headset ,chrome Redline cranks,blue seatpost clamp,blue tires,blue shimano DX pedals.One of the bikes in your collection looks identical from what I can see .I also had the big JMC bike bag for airtravel.I was a cofactory rider in the early 80`s.Would love to know if that`s my old bike.I`m from Texas

  2. Jon Western permalink
    January 20, 2011 12:00 am

    I am pleased to say I have now added a pit and a crusier to the collection, so thereis now one of every model πŸ™‚ I will pull a group photo at some point and send the pic πŸ™‚

    • Erick permalink*
      January 20, 2011 7:40 pm

      Swwweeet, bet you paid bank for the 24 or you get lucky and score one?

      • Jon Western permalink
        June 27, 2011 10:55 am

        I got a good bro deal on the frame and forks, but the whole build was quite expensive πŸ™‚

  3. Clint tuttle permalink
    March 24, 2011 5:40 pm

    Hi I’ve got a jmc micro mini sn#mm8505 I was just wondering ,how rare is this lil bike? I was also wondering what it might be worth ? Thanks respond at c.tuttle@live.ca

    • Jon Western permalink
      June 27, 2011 10:52 am

      if its a true micro mini then it will have the integrated seat post clamp in the middle of the seat post tube, rather than at the top, there were 89 made, I have two of them, they are worth whatever someone will pay, I paid $1700 for a complete many years ago , to be honest at that time I would have paid anything amount as i was looking to get the whole collection together and as so few were made i needed to get one, i then scored a nos micro mini frame after that , a real score, cant remember the actual cost but it was a real good score, I think i was the only bid on it.

      JMC Justin roos mini’s are even rarer, I have two of them there were either 54 or 55 made

  4. John Files permalink
    September 14, 2011 9:10 am

    Wow, nice collection! I’ve always been fascinated with JMC bikes. I was 10 in 1981 and this was and still is a dream bike of mine. Parents couldn’t afford a jmc for me so I settled for a db viper. Now I’m trying buy back my childhood dream but despite the cash I’m willing to spend, can’t find one available. Do you have any interest in selling anything from your collection?

  5. billy permalink
    April 11, 2014 12:46 pm

    Jon, I had a jmc that I bought from a racer in ’81. I had that bike up until 2006.I sold it to a guy in California. It was white with a euro bottom bracket the serial # was 234. If you see or hear anything about it please let me know I would like to see if I could get it back. Thank you so much. billylangley2@gmail.com

  6. Todd Skaggs permalink
    October 18, 2016 10:10 pm

    Your collection is amazing. i still own my JMC and FMF from the 1980`s. i use to race in Fremont at the old Baylands raceway. My question is how do i know what JMC frame i have. It has a number on it and a JMC stamp below the seat post on the flat round spot below.

    • October 18, 2016 10:22 pm

      Welcome to the site Todd. Go to my bike identifying section. The serial number often tells you make and model etc.
      If you have any pictures feel free to email me them.
      I never got to see Baylands or many NorCall tracks from the 80s. Ive been to just Roseville, Livermore once like in 83, just passed by and stopped. I saw a National at Sunol in early 90s. But my favorite memory may be from like 85 when I took the Bart from Alameda to Hayward to look for, find and ride Red Devil. I was probably the only guy there that day on a Profile let alone a 24. Met some kids but didnt take pictures and suck at names.

  7. Robert Artura permalink
    October 26, 2016 10:31 pm

    John want to sell your collection?

Leave a Reply

