Skip to content

’80 JMC Black Shadow

July 20, 2010

This bike is a 1980 JMC Black Shadow. It is a Jim Melton Certified bike. Era correct parts on this rebuild. Most JMC’s by this time had skinwall’s but he was going for a old school look. This bike has it. It looks like it just left the track! Man the internet is a time machine. Nice build Donnie.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. chris tatum permalink
    October 30, 2010 1:59 pm

    I believe that chrome JMC in the JON WESTern collection might be my old bike.The one with the blue UNI seat and the JMC bars .I can`t see the rims but if it has blue bullseyes and polished arraya`s that has got to be it

  2. Ryan Schmidt permalink
    January 26, 2011 6:30 am

    I am the proud 2nd owner of a 1980 JMC BLACK SHADOW. This was my race bike from early 82 to late 83 and have had it ever since.. The serial number is 2755 I spoke with jim and he said it was sold to FAirfield Cyclery in Nov. of 80.. Somewhere during my racing career I broke the forks and they are sitting in a landfill somewhere.. So if anybody has a set look me up as I really want to restore this bike.. Unless someone really need$$$$ it….Ryan

    • January 26, 2011 8:02 pm

      Got pictures of your frame? Is the serial number start with a K or JMC?

  3. Ryan Schmidt permalink
    January 27, 2011 4:58 am

    I will get pics, Ii believe it is just 2755

    • donnie Baird permalink
      March 15, 2011 5:02 pm

      it would start with either a jmc or a k . if it is nov of 80 . it would be a k . it was late enough in the year to begin with a k .

  4. Ryan permalink
    June 2, 2011 3:53 pm

    2755 is a 1980 JMC Black Shadow. It would use the tear drop forks. The correct decal set would be the white JMC Black Shadow decals. Pad set would be the 1st generatin, Thank you for your interest. Jim Melton This is the e-mail I go from Jim.. I bought it in spring of 82, It was sold to Fairfield Cycles in november of 80.. I am interested in selling if anybody is interested.. Ryan

Leave a Reply

