Skip to content

Some JMC firsts

October 25, 2012

Was talking to Jim and asked him for some of the exact dates an item or model was first sold. As I get more info from him I will post it here and just edit this thread.

JMC Andy Patterson Series Frames
Prototype July 1984
AP1 is un accounted for
AP2 and AP3 first ones accounted for went to Andy Patterson 8/2/84.
AP4 went to a Michigan team member on 8/3/84
AP5 the first sold went to Sundance Cyclery in Illinois on 8/3/84.

JMC Black Shadow Frames
1st JMC Black Shadow was not marked with a K.
#2175 was first ever JMC Black Shadow sold. It went to Bicycle Harbor in Arizona on 3/25/80.
#2175-2187.
Not sure when the first Black Shadow starting with “K” in the serial number was sold.

JMC Darrell Young Design Frames
2 Prototypes of the Darrell Young Design frame were made in October 1983 and marked DY XP1 and DY XP2.
However 7 more frames were made at that same time. After testing was complete these were the first JMC Darrell Young Desgins released.
DY 8401- DY 8405 all went to the ABA or Team racers in December 1983.
The first JMC Darrell Young Design frames were sold on January 8, 1984 to the Bike Gallery in Oregon including DY8411, DY8413. That same day DY8420 was shipped to the Bicycle Center in Southern California. Those were the first 3 sold but not made.

Thanks Jim for all your help.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Darren Hee Haw Martin permalink
    April 23, 2013 6:27 pm

    Hey my name is Darren Hee Haw Martin. I started riding jmc black shadows in the early 80’s and I was fortunate enough to get picked up by Rob Lynch of PRP. I don’t know if you remember me,but I watched you build the first PRP design. I still have the bike that I Quintupled with at an ABA Natiomal THE FIRST . Considering donating the bike, original frame and jersey stickers,numerous number plates,etc in honor of my hero Rob Lynch. Contact me at corvette6352@gmail.com

    • April 23, 2013 6:39 pm

      The First what? Wow winning a class is hard enough, I cant even spell winning 5 classes. My name is Erick Weinstetter, I run the site. When you say saw you build the first Privateer did you mean Jim Melton? If so I will make sure he sees this. I didn’t know JMC built the Priateers. I knew Rob and actually got his old Floval Flyer from him when my bike was stolen. I think this was when he started Privateer and didnt need it. Couple years later I hung out with him at Clark Summit Nationals in ’91. Wasn’t close to Rob but considered him a friend. In fact I live within walking distance of Peddlepower’s last location.

      • April 23, 2013 6:40 pm

        Contact the Hall of Fame in San Diego and see if they are interested.

  2. Justin permalink
    December 2, 2013 1:06 am

    Hi,
    Can anyone give me some info on the forks used on the DY,s. I have a DY and the forks have the DY shape to them but when the forks are laying down separately to the frame the steering tube has a slight angle(rise) to it. Are these correct to this model or are the forks from the standard long. I was told the correct forks didn’t have this rise in steer tube but we’re flat and ran the same as the legs. Some info would be much appreciated

Leave a Reply

