Skip to content

JMC Restoration Project: Part 1

December 9, 2012

When I got my first JMC, I was so excited I built this site. But didn’t really work on the bike. Then I got a second JMC, one year different and a different model. Finally, got the base of the bike done. It has taken much longer than I would have liked, to have gotten this far, but I’m happy with the results.

The bikes look beautiful in the sun. Part 2 may be a long time coming. I have scored some NOS items. But still need a gold set of alloy bars and a few other items. Part 2 will be building on the core. Part three will be the wheels and finishing touches. Could take awhile lol.

Note the all the differences between the two bikes. The Black Shadow has a much steeper head tube angle. The Black Shadow has a bladed downtube, while the Long Standard has a elliptical downtube. The Black Shadow has a box stay, the Long Standard and elliptical stay. The Black Shadow has a shorter extension of the top tube, behind the seat tube. The Black Shadow and Long Standard both I believe came with an optional Euro Bottom Bracket. The Long Standard has that.

part1final

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Terry (POPS) Spring permalink
    December 9, 2012 4:39 pm

    Beautiful Bud, Can’t pick one over the other. Nice grab POPS.

    • December 9, 2012 10:34 pm

      Thanks man. But my names not Bud, its Erick. Just playin’. Yeah they both are off to a great start. I dunno if I will be able to bring myself to ride them once fully restored.

  2. Andrew Murillo permalink
    July 13, 2017 11:12 am

    I found an early frame that looks like jmc. No serial number frame is filled in. Was told it was and early gravity bike. Picks on my Instagram at bowtiebmx4130 thanks.

Leave a Reply

