Skip to content

Jim Melton – God Bless

July 20, 2014

ripjim

17 Comments leave one →
  1. July 20, 2014 1:05 pm

    Truly one of the nicest most caring people I have ever met . So sad . Rest in peace Jim . You will be missed by many .

  2. Frank J. Heaton permalink
    July 20, 2014 1:10 pm

    We are only here a short time. Jim left a legacy that will live on. Sad to hear of his passing.

  3. July 20, 2014 1:38 pm

    Gracias por todo Jim , mi pésame a la familia.
    RIP

  4. SAS permalink
    July 20, 2014 2:44 pm

    Rest in Peace Jim. God Bless.

  5. Christian Castle permalink
    July 20, 2014 3:15 pm

    Jim I will miss you dearly, our conversations I will remember forever. Godspeed Jim RIP
    Christian Castle

  6. Samora family - Torrance, ca permalink
    July 20, 2014 5:00 pm

    So sad to hear this. I hope he went peacefully. Our deepest sympathies to the Melton family……..

  7. July 20, 2014 8:18 pm

    My dad would take me to In N Out for Double Doubles fries and we would eat at Covina BMX race track. At Covina BMX I remember the first time seeing a JMC and my dad talking to a man ( Jim ) about the frame. My dad was so impressed with the frame design and the designer. Jim Melton was a nice man and took time to talk and explain to us his ideas on building a fast, strong frame without weighing a lot. I will never forget those times at the.track. JMC bikes and Jim Melton in the SGV were legends from the beginning and always will be.
    R I P Jim Melton

  8. ChrisVerdeveld aka 63v-dub permalink
    July 21, 2014 5:17 am

    Race in Peace Jim.
    Glad to have met you.

  9. July 22, 2014 12:25 pm

    A true gentleman, I didn’t have the pleasure meeting Jim, but he was always ready to give advice and help by e-mail. Thanks RIP Jim

  10. Boris Wasmuth permalink
    July 22, 2014 1:31 pm

    God bless the creator of BMX finest! RIP

  11. David Leitzell permalink
    July 23, 2014 3:57 pm

    God Bless Jim Melton

  12. John permalink
    July 26, 2014 12:53 am

    Rest in paradise Jim, your legacy will live on through all us bmx enthusiasts!

    on a side note, we will be having a JMC appreciation display with everyone bringing down whatever they have JMC related next month at our annual Hurstbridge BMX show n shine 2014 in Melbourne, Australia. Should be a great turn out!

    the guys from Sydney will also be having one too at BMXPO 2014
    so we will send you a few pics after the event!

    • July 26, 2014 2:10 pm

      Hope the show goes well.
      When are the Melbourne and Sydney shows and how can people find out more about them?

  13. Darnell permalink
    August 7, 2015 4:46 pm

    I always associated JMC with Race Inc.

  14. Glen Hess permalink
    February 15, 2017 10:38 am

    Pay a tribute to the godfather of bmx just found out his pasting he will be truly miss . lets make his legacy as godfather of true master piece of engineering Marvel in bmx . we should all come together and bring back the next gen of JMC frames and forks . has any body inquired about JMC . lets do this . G Hess

    • February 19, 2017 10:52 am

      I know Jim, when I had the chance to spend time with him, had been talking about bringing back JMC, with his daughter and son-in-law to pass on the legacy. He was thinking to make a modern JMC and not retro bikes. But he got married and I think battled illness sidetracking him. He had discussed my interest in working with him as he knew I started Hyper and American Bicycles but I told him I just didn’t have the time to do it full time, but would help him in anyway I could. He really missed BMX like I do. Not the business end of it so much, but the time at the track with friends and excitement of racing.
      Any thought of bringing back the brand would have to start with his daughter and grandson.

      • Glen Hess permalink
        February 19, 2017 9:01 pm

        Lets do it .

Leave a Reply

